Xero Payroll – How to Edit and Reset Pay Runs

It happens to every bookkeeper, you’ve put the payroll together and before you know it, there are changes to be made: someone has worked extra hours, there’s an allowance to add or tax changes to be made to an employee’s pay.

So now you’re wondering, how do I make changes to a draft pay run in Xero? That is a pay run before it has been posted. Don’t worry. This video tutorial will walk you through exactly how to do that. It will also show you how to reset the payroll to its original draft in case you don’t want to keep those changes. Accompanying the video, are some short written instructions below. 

How to Change an Employee’s Payslip

  1. Go to Settings → Payroll in the main menu.
  2. Click on the Pay employees tab.

Then, click anywhere on the row containing the Draft Pay Run information.

In the next screen, you should see a list of the employees that are included in your pay run. To edit the pay details of an employee, click any field along the row containing the employee’s details.

Once you have finished making changes, you need to save the pay template. To do this, click on the following buttons at the bottom of your screen:

  1. Save followed by Cancel to get back to the main pay run screen; or
  2. Save & Next if you want to edit the next employee’s template.

That’s all you need to do to edit a pay run in Xero.

How to Reset a Pay Run

If you have made changes to a draft pay run in Xero payroll that you want to undo, you can reset it to its original draft version. 

To get to the right area of Xero payroll:

  1. Go to Settings → Payroll in the main menu.
  2. Click on the Pay Runs tab.

Once you have a draft pay run ready to go, click anywhere on its row in the Draft Pay Run section.

On the next screen containing the list of the employees included in the pay run, scroll to the bottom and click on the Reset Pay Run button.

A pop-up box will appear asking if you’re sure you want to reset the pay run. If you are sure, click on Yes.

The pay run will now reset to its original draft form. Any changes you made to individual pay templates will be removed. That’s all you need to do to reset a pay run in Xero. From here you can post, delete or amend or save the pay run and come back to it later.

Disclaimer: Our articles and videos are here to inform you and the information provided does not constitute financial, taxation, legal, business or other professional advice and should not be relied upon as such. See our full disclaimer here.

Similar Posts